Transportation

How to Get to Bali?

There are numerous international flights to and from Bali. Depending on where do you fly from, there are plenty of alternatives to reach Bali, from affordable flights to the rather expensive ones.

Although Indonesia's national capital Jakarta is the gateway airport to Indonesia, there are also many direct international flights to Bali. The least expensive way to Bali may be an affordable flight to Jakarta, Kuala Lumpur, or Singapore, and a connection flight to Bali on a budget airline.

The cheapest flights to Indonesia are available when you're flying to Jakarta and departing back from Denpasar, Bali. You have various options from where to depart—you can consider to fly from Amsterdam, Geneva, Rome, or Paris. Your return flight would be then back to United Kingdom (London and Manchester) or Germany cities like Frankfurt, Dusseldorf, Munich, Berlin, etc.

If you can accept longer transit time, you can reach such an amazing place for really extraordinary low fare.

You can also check out skyscanner.net to give you a quick calculation about which low-cost airlines are connecting your hometown.


Flights to Bali

There are direct flights from major Australian, Asian, American, and European cities to Bali.

Asia Bali is well connected to major Asian hubs.
Europe You can Fly KLM on the one-stop from Amsterdam or change to a Bali flight at Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur or Singapore.
Australia Service to Australia is at record levels.
North America The best connections are through any of the major Asian hubs with nonstop service to Bali. No US airline serves Bali.
New Zealand Air New Zealand may have non-stop service.
Other Indonesian Islands You can fly to major Indonesian cities from Bali often for under US$50 through local travel agents on the airport.

Departure Tax

The departure tax from Bali is IDR 75,000 for domestic flights and IDR 200,000 for international ones.


Bali Airport


The only airport in Bali, Ngurah Rai International Airport (DPS), is just south of Kuta. It is sometimes referred to internationally as Denpasar or on some internet flight-booking sites as Bali.

International airlines flying to and from Bali have myriad flights to Australia and Asian capitals. The present runway is too short for planes flying direct to/from Europe.

Domestic airlines serving Bali from other parts of Indonesia change frequently. All have ticket offices at the domestic terminal, which you may need to use, because internet sales are often difficult.

Air Asia (www.airasia.com) Serves Jakarta as well as Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur, Singapore and Australian cities.
Cathay Pacific Airways (www.cathaypacific.com) Serves Hong Kong.
China Airlines (www.china-airlines.com) Serves Taipei.
Eva Air (www.evaair.com) Serves Taipei.
Garuda Indonesia (www.garuda-indonesia.com) Serves Australia, Japan, Korea and Singapore direct plus cities across Indonesia.
Jetstar (www.jetstar.com) Serves Australia.
KLM (www.klm.com) Serves Amsterdam via Singapore.
Korean Air (www.koreanair.com) Serves Seoul.
Lion Air (www.lionair.co.id) Serves cities across Indonesia and Kuala Lumpur.
Malaysia Airlines (www.mas.com.my) Serves Kuala Lumpur.
Qatar Airways (www.qatarairways.com) Serves Doha non-stop with good connections to Europe.
Singapore Airlines (www.singaporeair.com) Several Singapore flights daily.
Thai Airways International (www.thaiair.com) Serves Bangkok.
Virgin Australia (www.virginaustralia.com) Serves Australia.
Air Asia (www.airasia.com) Serves Kuala Lumpur.
Garuda Indonesia (www.garuda-indonesia.com) Serves Bali and Jakarta.
Lion Air/Wings Air (www.lionair.co.id) Serves Bali, Jakarta and Surabaya.
Silk Air (www.silkair.com) Serves Singapore.
Trans Nusa (www.transnusa.co.id) Nusa Tenggara destinations, plus Bali.